Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Unveils 15-Member Cabinet

The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa cabinet, comprising 15 members, was officially announced on Wednesday, following approval from the Governor. The administration department issued a notification outlining the members, including Arshad Ayub, Shakeel Ahmed, Fazal Hakeem Khan, and Muhammad Adnan Qadri, among others. Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Chief Minister Khurram Nawaz Gandapur will decide on specific portfolios for the cabinet members.

Gandapur’s Election as Chief Minister

Ali Amin Gandapur, a prominent member of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), secured a significant victory in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly. He became the 22nd Chief Minister of the province.

He garnered 90 votes, defeating his rival Ibadullah Khan from the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).

Additionally, Imran Khan, the imprisoned founder of PTI, had nominated Gandapur for the coveted position. In his victory speech, Gandapur emphasized his independent capacity as Chief Minister and expressed concerns about the lack of a level playing field for his party in the recent general elections.

Gandapur’s Vision for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

In his post-election speech, Chief Minister Gandapur pledged not to engage in revenge politics but asserted that PTI knows how to reclaim its rights. He called for an investigation into allegations of rigging and demanded the resignation of the chief election commissioner. Gandapur urged the Supreme Court to establish a judicial commission for a thorough inquiry into rigging claims.

Moreover, addressing the May 9 riots, he called for a judicial inquiry, claiming false charges against PTI leaders. Gandapur promised to end terrorism in KP and focus on economic development, revenue increase, and poverty alleviation.

He also committed to restoring health cards in the province on the first day of Ramadan.