Nawaz, ex-CMs in race for Khyber Pakhtunkhwas NA seats

 As the country gears up for general elections on February 8, numerous seasoned politicians, including Nawaz Sharif of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and six former chief ministers, are vying for seats in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP).

Expect thrilling contests on over a dozen National Assembly seats in the province due to the participation of senior politicians from KP.

More than half a dozen seats in the National Assembly in KP anticipate interesting and competitive races.

Let’s examine the formidable candidates in KP: Various major political party leaders and other strong contenders are engaged in the electoral process.

Nawaz Sharif will compete against Shahzada Gustasp Khan of the rival political party, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), and Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) in Mansehra’s constituency NA-15.

A fierce competition is expected between PTI’s Muhammad Atif and Awami National Party’s (ANP) Ameer Haider Azam Khan Hoti in Mardan’s NA-22.

In Dera Ismail Khan’s NA-44, JUI-F Emir Maulana Fazlur Rehman will battle PTI-backed Ali Amin Gandapur, with Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) candidate Faisal Karim Kundi likely to cause an upset.

A challenging contest looms between PTI’s Barrister Gohar Ali Khan and Jamat-e-Islami’s (JI) Bakht Jehan Khan in NA-10 Buner, while former chief minister Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao is expected to face PTI’s Anwar Taj in NA-24 Charsadda.

In Charsadda’s NA-25, ANP’s Provincial President Aimal Wali Khan and PTI’s former MNA Fazal Muhammad Khan anticipate a fierce competition.

NA 41 of Lucky Marwat expects a tough fight between Maulana Fazlur Rehman’s son Asjad Mahmood, PTI’s central leader Sher Afzal Marwat, and independent candidate Salim Saifullah Khan.

Former National Assembly speaker and senior PTI leader Asad Qaiser will contest against JUI’s Maulana Fazal Ali Haqqani in NA 19, Swabi.

Similarly, former KP CM and PTI-Parliamentarians candidate Mehmood Khan, ANP’s Muhammad Saleem Khan, and PTI-backed Sohail Sultan will vie for the National Assembly seat, NA-4 in Swat.

In NA-6 of Lower Dir, the competition will be between JI’s Siraj-ul-Haq PTI-backed Muhammad Bashir Khan, while NA-28 Peshawar will witness an electoral battle between JUI’s Noor Alam Khan and PTI’s Sajid Nawaz.

Furthermore, PTI’s Shandana Gulzar Khan and JUI-‘s Nasir Khan Musazai will contest on Peshawar’s NA-30, ANP’s Ghulam Ahmad Bilour, JUI’s Maulana Hussain Ahmed Madani, and Asif Khan of PTI are expected to engage in a tough fight in NA-32 of Peshawar.

A challenging contest looms between PTI's Barrister Gohar Ali Khan and Jamat-e-Islami's (JI) Bakht Jehan Khan in NA-10 Buner, while former chief minister Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao is expected to face PTI's Anwar Taj in NA-24 Charsadda.