Afghan Government appoints new Governors

Afghan Government appoints new Governors for Badakhshan, Kunar and Zabul

The Afghan government has announced new appointments for the governors and deputies of three provinces on Monday. The spokesman for the Islamic Emirate, Zabihullah Mujahid, tweeted that the changes were made according to a decree from the leadership.

The new governors are:

  • Qari Mohammad Ayub Khalid for Badakhshan. He was previously the governor of Kunar.
  • Maulvi Qudratullah Abu Hamza for Kunar. He was previously the governor of Zabul.
  • Mullah Agha Mohammad Ibrahim for Zabul. He was formerly the deputy commander of 217 Omar military corps.

The new deputies are:

  • Qazi Maulvi Abdul Jamil for Badakhshan.
  • Mullah Amanuddin Mansour for 217 Omar military corps. He was formerly the governor of Badakhshan.
  • This is the latest reshuffle of provincial officials by the caretaker government since it took power in August last year.
  • The caretaker government said the new appointments were aimed at improving governance and security in the provinces.
  • The new governors and deputies are expected to take charge of their duties soon.